All tricks in this blog are only for educational purpose. Learn these tricks only for your knowledge. Please donot try these to harm any one. We will not take any responsibility in any case. All softwares and tools on this site are here for private purposes only and If you want to use a software for business purpose, please purchase it. I do not host many of these tools. I Post links that I have found from numerous Search engines. I will not be responsible for any of harm you will do by using these tools.


Tuesday, January 18, 2011

recently announced on its developer blog that it will now be “making a user’s address and number accessible as part of the User Graph object.” In other words, the site will now let third-party applications (think Farmville or that spammy app your friends keep falling for that promises to show them who is stalking them on ) access your contact information.
“Because this is sensitive information,” reads the announcement, “[...]permissions must be explicitly granted to your application by the user via our standard permissions dialogs.” Take a look at the example permission dialogs box, however, and tell us if you think this is enough.

As All points out, there is very little here to call attention to the fact that would now be sharing
something that it previously did not share. In this particular dialog box, it’s only one of two items, but many similar boxes contain more. “[Users] probably won’t notice the addition of the words ‘current address and number’ to the text, and likely click ‘allow’ without noticing that they’re actually granting more access than ever before,” writes Jackie Cohen for All .
Thankfully, this sort of information cannot be shared via your friends’ careless actions, unlike other profile information. According to ’s blog post, “these permissions only provide access to a user’s address and number, not their friend’s addresses or numbers.”
What do you think about sharing your phone number and address? Of course, the responsibility of actually sharing that information comes down to whether or not you click that “Allow” button, but is it visually distinct enough? Does it come down to the age old rule that if you don’t want it to be public, you don’t put it on the Internet? Or do you see this as selling out its users and betraying their trust?


Post a Comment